Justice David Wellington Chew Award

Established in 2002, the Justice David Wellington Chew Award honors those individuals whose selfless contributions benefit the Asian-Pacific American legal community of Texas. The award was named after Justice Chew, who currently presides as Chief Justice of the Eighth Court of Appeals. APIS is proud to honor Justice Chew for his pioneering achievements as one of the first Asian-Pacific Americans in the Texas judiciary.

Each of the past recipients listed below epitomize Justice Chew's passion and commitment towards helping and advancing Asian-Pacific interests in Texas and throughout the nation.

The 2014 Justice Wellington Chew Award will be presented at the 18th Annual APIS Conference and Retreat on Saturday, April 5, 2014. To nominate a deserving candidate for the 2014 Award, please contact the APIS Chair: Alice Liu Cook

Past Winners

Toni Nguyen
Luminex Corp.
Austin, Texas

Michelle Wong Krause
The Wong Krause Law Firm
Dallas, Texas


Gordon J. Quan
FosterQuan, LLP
Houston, Texas

The Honorable Herbert W. Gee
Houston, Texas

James C. Ho
Gibson Dunn
Dallas, Texas

Albert J. Li
Associate Counsel
Zimmer, Inc.
Austin, Texas

Harry Gee
Principal, Harry Gee, Jr. & Associates
Houston, Texas

Kathleen Wu
Partner, Andrews Kurth
Dallas, Texas

The Honorable Peter Sakai
Judge of the 225th District Court
Bexar County, Texas

Honorable Karen Gren Johnson
Judge of the 95th District Court
Dallas County, Texas

Daniel David Hu
Deputy Chief, Civil Division
U.S. Attorney’s Office
(Southern District of Texas)

Honorable Brenda Rhoades
U.S. Bankruptcy Court
(Eastern District of Texas)